Master Key Quest

Journey to the Master Keys

Week 7 “Oh, I never thought about that!”

5 Comments

Have you ever really thought about what you think about?

Funny question, right?

In today’s society, that does seem like a funny question. Have you ever noticed how many times we hear; or even say ourselves, “Oh, I never thought about that!”?

This week in our Master key journey we are thinking about what we are thinking about. By this I mean we are examiningquote-you-must-not-allow-yourself-to-dwell-for-a-single-moment-on-any-kind-of-negative-thought-emmet-fox-51-80-48 our thoughts and using the Law of Substitution to cancel a negative thought and replace it with a positive thought. This is the exercise of The Seven Day Mental Diet of Emmet Fox. “For seven days I must not allow myself to dwell for a single moment on any kind of negative thought.”

Here’s the kicker – once I dwell on a negative thought for more than a moment, I must restart the seven days!!!!

cinnamon-bun-lady

We have all heard many times, in all forms of marketing relating to food and diets; that we are what we eat. In fact, you may even recall this image in a clever food advertisement. Although, this is not breaking news for readers of the bible; you will be happy to know that it has been scientifically proven that we are what we think, as well.

So I ask you again, have you ever really thought about what you think about?

Think about this for a moment.  Imagine there were a way to learn HOW TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE IN A WEEK.  However difficult this may be, Emmet Fox points out that there is a reward!

The most important of all factors in my life is the mental diet on which I live. It

is the food which I furnish to my mind that determines the whole character of my

life. It is the thoughts I allow myself to think, the subjects that I allow myself to

dwell upon, which make me and my surroundings what they are. As thy days, so

shall thy strength be. Everything in my life today – the state of my body, whether

healthy or sick, the state of my fortune, whether prosperous or impoverished, the

state of my home, whether happy or the reverse, the present condition of every

phase of my life in fact – is entirely conditioned by the thoughts and feelings which

I have entertained in the past, by the habitual tone of my past thinking. And the condition of

my life tomorrow, and the next week, and next year, will be entirely conditioned by the

thoughts and feelings which I choose to entertain from now onwards.

In other words, I choose my life, that is to say, I choose all the conditions of my

life, when I choose the thoughts upon which I allow my mind to dwell.”

In our study materials it is noted specifically: Thinking1

The practical difficulty in applying it, however, arises from the fact that our thoughts are so close to us that it is difficult, without a little practice, to stand back as it were and look at them objectively.”

I am willing to do the hard, mental labor that Haanel speaks of in his weekly lessons as I learn HOW TO CHANGE MY LIFE IN A WEEK! It is going to be another pivotal week!

I challenge you to notice this week how may times you hear; or even say yourself, “Oh, I never thought about that!”? While you are thinking here is some food for thought…

Never+thought+about+it+that+way_f17878_4964212

5 thoughts on “Week 7 “Oh, I never thought about that!”

  1. Great post! The law of substitution is a great way handle negative thought. I am whole, perfect and ever growing is what I have been using to counter negative thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome concept – creating everything by how we think … who would have thought 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

